CRRC Board of Directors

The Community Race Relations Committee of Peterborough is the community members who ensure its enduring relevance and engagement in the life of the City. We are grateful for the many gifts and hours given freely by our Board members.

2023-24 Board of Directors

Debbie Harrison – Interim Chair & Treasurer

I am a white Peterborough resident and mother of bi-racial children who is passionate about human rights. I have worked at Fleming College in the areas of Diversity & Inclusion Services and International Student Services since 2006. My background is in community services - women's organizations, newcomer settlement, and anti-racism education - in Toronto and Montreal. I try to stay conscious of my white privilege and completed a Masters in Adult Education focused on anti-racism education for rural white Canadians, to help my own learning and to support others on their learning journey.

Mina Abdi – Co-Chair

Mina is a student at Fleming College in the Occupational & Physiotherapy Program, and is a founder of the BIPOC Club.

Ciya Thomas – Secretary

(Bio and portrait to come)

Steph Meleady – Board Member

Steph grew up in Peterborough and Toronto and works at the YES Shelter for Youth and Families, with previous experience in youth justice and diversion. She holds degrees from Trent University in Cultural Studies, Media and History and Loyalist College in Broadcast Journalism. Passionate about equity and human rights, Steph looks forward to supporting racial justice initiatives in the community as a member of the CRRC board.

CRRC welcomes letters of interest from community members who would like to join our Board of Directors. Contact us at

Photo taken at CRRC’s 2022 AGM on May 17th, 2022 @ the Unitarian Fellowship of Peterborough – Beth Israel Congregation. [Standing row, left to right: Ciya Thomas (Vice Chair), Debbie Harrison (Treasurer), Czarina Garcia (Coordinator), Patricia Wilson (AGM Panelist), Councillor Kemi Akapo (Guest Speaker), Danielle Adderley (AGM Panelist). Seated Row, left to right: Sarah Lewis (Poet Laureate Guest Performer), Koji Mirkiani (Secretary), Tricia Johnston (CRRC Member), Will Ward (Trent Student Rep)].